Zack Snyder: “I’m really excited about the Batman we created”

 
In an interview with CBR News: Zack Snyder during Bob Kane’s Hollywood Walk of Fame ceremony, he shared some thoughts about his interpretation of the Dark Knight in the upcoming Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice

I definitely wanted an older Batman. I wanted a war-weary Batman. That’s why, in a lot of ways, Ben was really perfect for me — we kind of aged him a little bit. It worked really great. I’m really excited about the Batman we created.

He also talked about the influence of Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns:

I was talking to Frank about it: “Dark Knight Returns” was such a big influence on me, that I wanted to to honor him through imagery in the movie. You could still make “Dark Knight Returns” into a movie, if you want. That’s what I’m saying, as far as how much we used and how much we didn’t use. The visual elements, there are some that I homage, but I don’t think the movie [is an adaptation].

Leave a Reply

